Is the Magazine Broken?

With technology progressing at such a rapid pace, it’s difficult to envision exactly how we’ll be consuming content even 5 years from now.  The following video highlights how quickly technology is removing barriers to accessing information.  To this baby, the concept of a magazine simply doesn’t make sense.  

From a recent Penelope Trunk blog post: “I’m convinced that the biggest impact Generation Z will have on the workplace is in their schooling. They will be lifelong, self-learners, who take more personal responsibility for their ongoing education than any generation in history. I am not talking about graduate school here. I am talking about a more creative, independent way of learning that does not stop at college, but rather, picks up pace remarkably after college, when real experiential learning starts happening.”

The ease with which we can now access content is what makes independent, continual learning possible.  5 years ago I would read a book on my train ride to work.  Today, my iPad let’s me get a jump start on my work day, write my next blog post, or network with colleagues or friends.  With an hour communite from the suburbs to the city, that’s two hours a day I can spend being productive virtually any way I wish.  Productivity has never been more attainable and technology will only continue to make it easier.

Leave a Reply

